National Book Award Winners Announced

strict warning: Declaration of views_plugin_style_default::options() should be compatible with views_object::options() in /home1/thomasd8/public_html/sites/all/modules/contrib/views/plugins/ on line 24.

The winners of this year's National Book Awards were announced on Wednesday night. Local poet, David Ferry of Brookline won this year's award for Poetry with his collection 'Bewilderment: New Poems and Translations'. Louise Erdrich's 'The Round House' won for best novel. This story of racial injustice that takes place on a reservation in North Dakota beat out some stiff competition. Katherine Boo's story of the poverty in the shadow of India's luxury hotels, 'Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity', won the non fiction award. Read more about these and the rest of the awards at

© 2011 Thomas Crane Public Library

Developed by Isovera, Inc.