Quincy, Mass. Historical and Architectural Survey
1300 Furnace Brook Parkway
The Southwest Quincy neighborhood is bounded by the Southeast Expressway (west), Copelanu-Common-Tinson-Suomi-Quarry-Granite (north), the MBTA tracks (east) and the Braintree Town Line (south). Southwest Quincy is similar to West Quincy as it was also the result of the phenonlena1 expansion of the granite industry which began in the early 19th century. Fueled by the first commercial railway (1826) and new techniques in quarrying stone, growth accelerated well into the 1900's. The late 1860's saw new techniques in polishing stone, which in turn spurred the growth of Southwest Quincy's granite working, polishing, and tool and machine shops. To meet the demands of the industry, the worker population grew and new immigrants, mainly from Sweden, Finland. Scotland and Italy, settled in the newly subdivided Bass Common and Captain's Plains with the Scandinavian node of settlement located at Brewer's Corners. Earlier important industries in Southwest Quincy centered around the grist mill (1640-1825) and Wilson Marsh's coach lace business which operated from 1797 to 1837.
E. H. Doble was probably the builder of this fine house at 1300 Furnace Brook Parkway. Doble was the owner of E. H. Doble & Co., dry goods and merchandise, established in 1858, located at 273 Copeland Street in West Quincy. The present property is about one fifth' of its former four acres and the present "Doble Street", which runs off West Street, probaly is its original boundary. The property stayed in the Doble family until 1927.
BIBLIOGRAPHY and/or REFERENCES
H. Hobart Holly. "Brewer's Corner Formed by Granite Industry". Quincy History. Spring, 1982.
H. Hobart Holly. "Quincy's Granite Hills Were Golden". Quincy History. Spring, 1980. Walter O. Nisula. "Granite Drew the Finnish to Quincy". Quincy History. Spring, 1984." "Southwest Quincy: Then and Now". Quincy Neighborhood Housing Services. Text by Johnson, Drawings by Joe Angelis, 1983.
"Walking Tour of Historic Southwest Quincy". Quincy Neighborhood Services, 1984.
The Queen Anne Style was the dominant domestic style from about 1880 until 1900. The style begun in England with the work of Richard Norman Shaw. It harkened back to pre-18th century Queen Anne classically oriented architecture and back to picturesque late medieval structures of England. At the 1876 Philadelphia Centennial Americans were first exposed to English Queen Anne architecure. Within the decade, the style had replaced the previous foreign derived styles, such as Gothic Revival, Italianate and French Second Empire (Mansardic). The salient characteristic of the style was the emphasis on irregularity of plan, of massing, of color, of windows types and of wall textures. There were many wall overhangs, types of roofs and elaborate chimneys; ornamentation was ubiquitous. With time, picturesque elements were replaced with classic detailing and soon after, late 1890s, this led to the Shingle Style and the Colonial Revival Style.
Once a single residence, this Queen Anne house has been converted to a multiple residence. Throughout this recycling it has retained most of the fine Queen Anne characteristics of the style. It is only at the rear with the unfelicitious boxy addition that the conversion harmed the house. However, the facade and side elevations have retained their integrity and identity. A mong the nu merous fine period details are the varied types of shingles used on the gables and the flared stringcourse, the solid bargeboards on the gables, the double overhang of the gables, the cross gabled wing with its cut-off windows complete with their brackets and ball pendants intact (a rare survival in Quincy), the small corner porches with the turned posts and circular cut-outs frieze and the rich articulation of the walls. It is a significant structure on the Furnace Brook Parkway, Lyons corner and an elegant reminder of the times of grand estates.