Quincy, Mass. Historical and Architectural Survey
94 Grandview Avenue
The Wollaston/Forbes Hill neighborhood of Quincy is bounded by the M.B.T.A. tracks (east), Furnace Brook Parkway (south), Adams Street (west) and Beale Street (north). In 1869 the Wollaston Land Associates purchased an initial 300 acres on and near the Wollaston Hills for the purpose of developing a status residential area. This was a portion of the tract allotted in 1636 by the Town of Boston to William Hutchinson. the husband of Mistress Anne Hutchinson. When the development began in 1870 there was but one house in the entire section from the railroad tracks to Adams Street to the Milton line. The early lots sold for about 12 cents a foot but the development accelerated after George F. Pinkham, the business manager of the Associates, got the Old Colony Railroad to issue free passes good for three years to anyone purchasing a house lot from the land company. To quote H. Hobart Holly: "This emphasis on commuting was an important factor in setting the pattern for Wollaston and communities to the north as primarily residential rather than manufacturing areas." Forbes Hill lies a bit to the West of Wollaston Hill and is dominated by a magnificent standpipe and the Furnace Brook Golf Course.
Number 94 Grandview Avenue is located on land which formerly belonged to Farrington McIntire, a Boston insurance man and early major landowner on Wollaston HIll, in 1888. The land had changed hands by 1897 and now belonged to A. A. Lincoln, treasurer of the Wollaston Foundry Company, established 1873 and located at nearby Norfolk Downs. The house was probably built by Horace C. Briggs. a Boston broker, who had sold it to another Boston broker, Charles Alden, by 1915.
BIBLIOGRAPHY and/or REFERENCES
William Churchill Edwards. Historic Quincy. Massachusetts. 1957. p. 297.
H. Hobart Holly. ed. Quincy: 350 Years. 1974. p. 51.
Quincy Patriot Ledger. Souvenir Edition. 1899. p. 47 D. Foster Taylor. "Wollaston As It Was In 1870's." (written in 1946). Quincy History. Quincy Historical Society. January 1985.
The Queen Anne Style was the dominant domestic style from about 1880 until 1900. The style begun in England with the work of Richard Norman Shaw. It harkened back to pre-18th century Queen Anne classically oriented architecture and back to picturesque late, medieval structures of England. At the 1876 Philadelphia Centennial Americans were first exposed to English Queen Anne architecure. Within the decade, the style had replaced the previous foreign derived styles, such as Gothic Revival, Italianate and French Second Empire (Mansardic). The salient characteristic of the style was the emphasis on irregularity of plan, of massing, of color, of windows types and of wall textures. There were many wall overhangs, types of roofs and elaborate chimneys; ornamentation was ubiquitous. With time, picturesque elements were replaced with classic detailing and soon after, late 1890s, this led to the Shingle Style and the Colonial Revival Style.
This grand Queen Anne residence is replete with characteristics of the style. They include the corner round tower partially integrated within the massing of the house with its picturesque conical roof, the complex roof structure, the numerous projections on all the elevations, the variety of windows, the tall chimneys, the gothic shaped recess within a gable with a Palladian window, the overhanging eaves and the elegant porch supported by double columns atop a granite base. Of particular interest is the projecting pavilion with another Queen Anne Palladian window filled with stained glass atop the granite framed entrance (see photograph). It will be recommended that this fine property be included in the proposed National Register Wollaston Hill Historic District.