41 Beale Street
Quincy, MA 02170
Email: email@example.com 
Not accessible to wheelchairs
Branch Librarian: Barbara Glod
|1-5 p.m.||1-5 p.m.||1-9 p.m.||9 a.m.-5 p.m.||CLOSED|
The Wollaston Branch is not accessible to users with mobility impairments. If mobility impairment prevents use of any service at Wollaston Branch, users may request service at the Main Library, which is fully accessible.
After school story hours for children aged 4-8 are offered from October to December and from February to May. Due to limited space, registration is required. Check the Storytimes  page or our Calendar of Events  for more information, or call 617-376-1330.
The Wollaston Branch Library is located in the heart of an active business district and is within walking distance of many library users. The Wollaston Woman's Club conducted a drive that resulted in the purchase of the land on which the building was erected in 1922. Community residents, including school children, bought land by the foot until approximately 8500 square feet were acquired. The Woman's Club continued its effort on behalf of the library by launching a book drive to fill empty shelves and by providing chairs for the recreation room. A piano was given by the Wollaston Glee Club.
The branch library was one of architect William Chapman's earliest Quincy commissions. He chose a Classical Revival style. The rectangular single storey building has a hip roof and exterior walls of stucco. Its elegant entrance boasts many architectural details, including a book in low relief. Part of the Crane Memorial Fund was used to build the $15,000 neighborhood library.
The official opening in early 1923 was attended by Mayor George E. Adams, library trustees, and Truman Temple, Librarian. Miss Catherine Saville, branch librarian, was not in attendance, having been confined to her house with a broken ankle.
Learn more about the branch in this interview with Librarians Barbara Glod and Amanda Pegg-Wheat, filmed for QATV: