Text Size

  • Increase
  • Decrease

Current Size: 100%

Databases

Looking for reliable information?
Search our databases to find full-text articles and citations from journals, magazines and newspapers, as well as primary sources, statistical data and more. 

Databases can be accessed from any Internet-based computer unless they are specified as In-Library Use Only. All databases are funded by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System unless otherwise noted.

Search Databases by Subject

Books & Authors

Biography

Business

Careers & Education

Current Issues

Encyclopedias

Genealogy

General

Health & Nursing

History

House & Home

K-12

Language Learning

Newspapers

Science

Travel

 


Books & Authors

Books & Authors Books & Authors
Explore books, authors, genres and topics and get recommendations on what to read next. Includes biographical and critical information from Contemporary Authors.
   
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Find significant published literary criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
   
Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center
Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
   
NoveList NoveList
A fiction database that provides reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. Use a favorite author or title to find similar books, or find all the books in a series you enjoy. From home, you will be asked to enter your Thomas Crane Public Library barcode number. Access funded by the Thomas Crane Public Library.

Biography

Biography in Context Biography in Context
Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography that's updated daily.

Business

 

Business Insights icon Business Insights: Essentials
Company profiles, financial data, investment reports, industry information, business periodicals and more.
   
General Business File ASAP General Business File ASAP
Articles from business, economic, management, trade, and industry publications; profiles of more than 100,000 companies; and investment reports for more than 11,000 companies.

Careers & Education

Criminal Justice Collection icon Criminal Justice Collection
Targeted collection of 700+ journals covering criminal justice including law enforcement, paralegal topics, and homeland security.
   
Educator's Reference Center Educator's Reference Complete
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
   
Vocation & Careers Collections icon Vocations & Careers Collections
Targeted collection of general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.

Current Issues

 

Global Issues in Context Global Issues in Context
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
   
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.
   
World Data Analyst icon Britannica World Data Analyst
Comprehensive current and historical statistics on the countries of the world for historical and cross-national comparisons and the creation of tables and charts or exporting for deeper analysis.

Encyclopedias

 

Britannica icon Britannica Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students, to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Genealogy

 

Ancestry icon Ancestry Library Edition
* In-Library Use Only; access funded by the Thomas Crane Public Library
This database offers a wealth of information in an easy-to-use format.                                                         

 

  • Over 4,000 databases and four billion names
  • U.S., U.K., Canada, Ireland, and other countries
  • Census data, maps, military, immigration, DAR records, slave stories, and more
   
NEGHS icon New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS)
* In-Library Access at the Main Library Only; access funded by the Thomas Crane Public Library

The Thomas Crane Library's institutional NEHGS membership provides access to over 2,200 databases on the NEHGS Web site.The most popular databases are:                                                                                                                      

 

  • Cemetery Transcriptions
  • Massachusetts Vital Records 1841-1910
  • Massachusetts Vital Records to 1850
  • The New England Historical and Genealogical Register 1847-1994
  • Social Security Death Index
   
 Globe & Herald Obituary Database Boston Globe & Herald Obituary Database
An index of obituaries that appeared in the Boston Globe and the Boston Herald. Currently, this database includes obituaries published between 1953 and 2010.

General

 

Database Power Search Database PowerSearch
Select one or more databases from an alphabetical list and then cross-search in a single search.
   
Expanded Academic ASAP logo Expanded Academic ASAP
Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, new magazines and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
   
General OneFile icon General OneFile
Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980- with over 12,000 titles (7,800 full-text including The New York Times back to 1985).
   
General Reference Center Gold General Reference Center Gold
Includes material from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and other reference material from 1980 - date.
   

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Subject coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more from 1980 - date.
   
Gale Virtual Reference Library icon Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online collection of premier reference eBooks, including encyclopedias and specialized sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across the entire collection.

Health & Nursing

Health & Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials, including health/medical journals, pamphlets, and health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc.
   
Health Reference Center Health Reference Center Academic
Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations.
   
Nursing & Allied Health Collection icon Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals and core encyclopedia texts.
   
Nursing Resource Center icon Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals and core encyclopedia texts.
   
Sports Medicine icon Sports Medicine and Physical Therapy Collection
Targeted collection of journals covering proven and experiment research and treatment techniques in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

History

Massachusetts History Online icon Massachusetts History Online
Find contextual information on the most significant people, events and topics in Massachusetts History.
   
US History in Context US History in Context
Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
   
Annals of American History icon Britannica Annals of American History
Speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, editorials, images and more that bring American history to life from 1493 to the present.
   
World History in Context World History in Context
Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

House & Home

Culinary Arts Collection icon      Culinary Arts Collection
Collection of over 200 major cooking and nutrition magazines including recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
   
Garden Collection icon Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Targeted collection of journals and e-reference sources for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.

K-12

InfoTrac Junior Edition InfoTrac Junior Edition
Designed for students in junior high and middle school, with access to magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
   
InforTrac Student Edition InfoTrac Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
   
Kids InfoBits Kids InfoBits
Search magazines & reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Designed for students in kindergarten through grade 5.

Language Learning

 Muzzy Online Muzzy Online
This is an online language learning service for children offering programs in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, Portuguese and Russian. Use your Thomas Crane Public Library card to log in. Access funded by the Thomas Crane Public Library.
   
Spanish Reference Center icon Britannica Spanish Reference Center
Includes Britannica Escolar Online, a Spanish elementary encyclopedia for  grades K-8 and Enciclopedia Moderna for grades 9-12. Moderna will satisfy native Spanish speakers, and students that are bilingual or just learning Spanish.

Newspapers

 Boston Globe
The Boston Globe
Full-text coverage from 1980.
 
 New York Times
The New York Times
Full-text coverage from 1985.
 
 Quincy Sun
Quincy Sun
Sept. 1968 - Dec. 2010 Online Access
Sept. 1968 - 2012 In-library access
To search by keywords across all the years of the Quincy Sun, email us, call us at 617-376-1316 or come to the library and ask for help at the Reference Desk. Microfilm (1968 - date) and hard copies of the paper (2012- date) are also available.


Science

Science in Context Science in Context
Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and website links.
   
Environmental Studies Collection icon Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government and industry perspectives.

Travel

Hospitality Collection icon      Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Collection of over 500 journals, 400 travel guides and e-reference books covering hospitality and tourism.

 

 


© 2011 Thomas Crane Public Library

Developed by Isovera, Inc.