Arts & Humanities

eSequels

eSequels lists more than 30,000 novels in series and has six ways to search — all of them easy. Includes annotations of every series and every book. Check here for the correct reading order and for a list of forthcoming titles in your favorite series.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media

From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts

With hundreds of full-text magazines and journals covered in databases, such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy

Why do some people believe in Heaven? Is it fear, hope, upbringing, or blind faith? Users of this collection can research different religions and philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Novelist Plus

NoveList is a resource that provides book recommendations based on appeal factors, curated lists, and read-alikes for titles you enjoy. It includes reviews, book covers, booklists, links to author web pages & much more!

How-to Video

Biography

Gale In Context: Biography

Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography and is updated daily.

Business

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

When starting a new business, entrepreneurs need all the help they can get. Created by subject experts and a librarian advisory board, Small Business Resource Center brings together hundreds of sample business plans, journals, multimedia content, and more. Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business: financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more. Startups, established businesses, and business students alike can find answers from its mobile responsive experience.

Gale OneFile: Business

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory

With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find hundreds of full-text journals to support their research.

Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability

Protection of assets is a concern for all; from the individual property owner to the multinational corporation, all have a vested interest in ensuring the retention of their assets, be it physical or intellectual. This collection of journals takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Gale Presents: Udemy

How it Works:

  • Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors
  • Requires a physical Thomas Crane Public Library card (No card? Email quref@ocln.org)
  • Also requires a free Google or Microsoft account to sign into Udemy
  • When you're prompted for your organization's account, type gale.udemy.com, then search for Thomas Crane Public Library
  • Stream on your computer, or download the Udemy for Business app on Android or Apple iOS

Help

Children's Resources

Britannica for Kids

Comprehensive encyclopedia built for kids to use. Easily adjustable reading level defaults to an easier level for younger children. Browse or search for articles on animals, biographies, geography, and more.

Britannica Online

Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Britannica School Edition

Comprehensive encyclopedia for students with resources for a variety of grade levels. Choose between Elementary, Middle, and High School levels.

Gale In Context: Biography

Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography and is updated daily.

Gale In Context: Elementary

Search magazines and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more. Designed for students in kindergarten through grade 5.

Gale In Context: Middle School

Covers a wide range of topics for students in grades 6 through 8, drawing from periodicals, journals, reference books and more.

Gale In Context: Science

Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and website links.

Gale In Context: U.S. History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.

Gale In Context: World History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Covers a wide range of topics for students in grades 6 through 8, drawing from periodicals, journals, reference books and more.

Transparent Language Online

Learn hundreds of languages online for free. No need to have a library card, all you'll need to do is create an account with Transparent Language.

How-To Video

Consumer & Auto

Consumer Reports

Make better purchasing decisions on the products for which you are shopping. Whether you are looking for the best deal on an LCD TV or researching the top-recommended used vehicles, Consumer Reports provides ratings and reviews, recommendations, and buying advice for thousands of products and services.

How-to Video

Gale: Chilton Library

ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Current Issues

Gale In Context: Global Issues

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

Gale OneFile: News

Easy access to comprehensive information on current events and news. This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Education

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete

More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Gale OneFile: Leadership & Management

Professional Development Resources for Educators. Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Online

Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Genealogy

American Ancestors

*Email quref@ocln.org to get the username and password

New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) provides access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond, including one of the most extensive online collections of early American genealogical records, the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines, and the only online source for Boston's Catholic records.

Ancestry Library Edition

Provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, plus local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s.

To access at home:

  1. Log into the catalog and click "Ancestry - Quincy" on the left of the page
  2. Click the Ancestry Library Edition logo

Access to Ancestry at home is available for a limited time and is for Quincy residents with a Quincy library card.

How-To Video

FamilySearch

*In-Library Use Only and you must create a free personal account to access resources

Search the Family History Library catalog as well as digitized records, which include hundreds of thousands of books and maps relating to family history and genealogical research. Account registration is required.

HeritageQuest Online

A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.  The database provides genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s.

Obituary Database

Boston Public Library’s Obituary Database indexes obituaries appearing in the Boston Evening Transcript (BET), Boston Globe (BG), and the Boston Herald/Herald American (BH) from 1932–1941 and 1953–2010.

General

Gale Academic OneFile

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Subject coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more from 1980-date.

How-To Video

Gale Academic OneFile Select

Use this database to find full-text scholarly journals, new magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines.

Gale General OneFile

Use this comprehensive periodical resource for any subject. Coverage goes back to 1980 — with more than 12,000 titles (7,800 full-text including The New York Times back to 1985).

Gale Power Search

Select one or more databases from an alphabetical list and then cross search in a single search.

ProQuest Research Companion

ProQuest Research Companion is an intuitive, self-guided tool written by writing instructors and librarians, designed to enhance information literacy, writing, and research skills.

Health & Nursing

Gale: Health & Wellness

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials, including health/medical journals, pamphlets, and health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc. Includes their Alternative Health Module.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals, and core encyclopedia texts.

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine

Targeted collection of journals covering proven and experiment research and treatment techniques in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

History

Gale In Context: U.S. History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.

Gale In Context: World History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.

Gale Massachusetts History Online

Find contextual information on the most significant people, events, and topics in Massachusetts history.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

Both the historian and reporter on the front line will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from more than 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and much more.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, social science.

Home & Travel

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

Collection of more than 200 major cooking and nutrition magazines including recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture

Targeted collection of journals and e-reference sources for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.

Gale OneFile: Home Improvement

Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting. With this collection of home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and much more.

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

Collection of more than 500 journals, 400 travel guides and e-reference books covering hospitality and tourism.

Jobs & Careers

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers

Targeted collection of general career guides and highly specialized industry journals.

Gale Presents: Udemy

How it Works:

  • Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors
  • Requires a physical Thomas Crane Public Library card (No card? Email quref@ocln.org)
  • Also requires a free Google or Microsoft account to sign into Udemy
  • When you're prompted for your organization's account, type gale.udemy.com, then search for Thomas Crane Public Library
  • Stream on your computer, or download the Udemy for Business app on Android or Apple iOS

Help

Peterson’s Career Prep (Gale Presents)

Learn about careers, receive personalized career recommendations, create resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.

How-to Video

RMV Driver's Permit Practice Tests

Handbooks and practice tests for Massachusetts car, motorcycle, and CDL licenses, plus FAQs about obtaining your Massachusetts driver's license.

Language Learning

Britannica Spanish Reference Center

Includes Britannica Escolar Online, a Spanish elementary encyclopedia for grades K-8 and Enciclopedia Moderna for grades 9-12. Moderna will satisfy native Spanish speakers and students that are bilingual or just learning Spanish.

Transparent Language Online

Learn hundreds of languages online for free. No need to have a library card, all you'll need to do is create an account with Transparent Language.

How-To Video

Law & Criminal Justice

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.

Newspapers & Magazines

America’s News

Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate, transcripts for 20/20 (ABC), 48 Hours (CBS), and 60 Minutes (CBS) to the Zachary Advocate and Plainsman (LA), and other sections. 

Boston Metro Collection

Search more than 250 sources for news around the Boston Metropolitan Area. Including historical and current full text of the Boston Herald since 1991, the Worcester Telegram and Gazette since 1989, and local publications from Abington (The Mariner, starting in June, 2019) to West Bridgewater (2007-2009), and the Cape Cod Times (Hyannis).

Gale's New York Times Database

Full-text coverage from 1985.

Gale OneFile: News

Easy access to comprehensive information on current events and news. This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. Provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts

Gale OneFile:Popular Magazines

Popular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes more than 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".

Patriot Ledger Collection

Search more than 19 years of Quincy history with The Patriot Ledger Collection. Coverage from 2000 through current. Explore current and archived issues of The Patriot Ledger with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online. 

Also available on microfilm (1837 - current) and print (3 months + current).

The Boston Globe

Full-text coverage from 1980.

The Enterprise Collection

Search more than 19 years of Brockton news with The Enterprise Collection. Coverage from 2000 through current. Explore current and archived issues of The Enterprise with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.

The New York Times Online

How it Works:

  • Unlimited access while using any device on the Thomas Crane Public Library network
  • Does NOT include access to the crossword, premium cooking section, and the archives between 1923-1980
  • Go to nytimes.com
  • Click Register Now and create a free personal nytimes.com account
  • Offsite? No problem, just get a token for 72 hours of offsite access

The Quincy Sun

Sept. 1968 - Dec. 2011 Online Access
Sept. 1968 - 2017 In-library access

To search by keyword email quref@ocln.org, call 617-376-1300 x3, or ask for assistance at Information Services on the top floor. Also available on microfilm (1968 - current) and print (1 year + current).

The Wall Street Journal Online

How it Works:

  • Access the Wall Street Journal from anywhere
  • Go to our catalog and log into your library account
  • Click the Wall Street Journal - Quincy link in the left side menu
  • Click the Wall Street Journal logo
  • Create a WSJ account or log in to an existing account
  • Your access will be available for 3 days
  • At the conclusion of the 3 day period, return to the catalog, click the Wall Street Journal - Quincy link, and login as an existing user with the credentials you created

Science & Technology

Gale In Context: Science

Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and website links.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy

Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government, and industry perspectives.

Gale Presents: Udemy

How it Works:

  • Connect to 4,000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors
  • Requires a physical Thomas Crane Public Library card (No card? Email quref@ocln.org)
  • Also requires a free Google or Microsoft account to sign into Udemy
  • When you're prompted for your organization's account, type gale.udemy.com, then search for Thomas Crane Public Library
  • Stream on your computer, or download the Udemy for Business app on Android or Apple iOS

Help

Science Database

New as of January 6, 2020. This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s

Social Sciences

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies

A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy

Collection of 700+ journals and reference books covering environmental issues policies from scientific, government, and industry perspectives.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and much more.

Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies

It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals — many cited in the PsycINFO index.

Teen Resources

Britannica Online

Comprehensive encyclopedia meeting the reference needs for all patrons from students to business professionals and lifelong learners. Offers "adult" and "kids"  interface. Includes a dictionary, thesaurus, videos, images, primary sources, and e-books.

Gale In Context: Biography

Contains nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography and is updated daily.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues, with continuously updated articles, overviews, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

Gale In Context: Science

Information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, and website links.

Gale In Context: U.S. History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history.

Gale In Context: World History

Find contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find the information you need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Articles from a variety of magazines, plus excerpts from reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary, medical directories, health periodicals, and pamphlets from leading health organizations.

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Covers a wide range of topics for students in grades 6 through 8, drawing from periodicals, journals, reference books and more.

Gale Power Search

Select one or more databases from an alphabetical list and then cross search in a single search.

RMV Driver's Permit Practice Tests

Handbooks and practice tests for Massachusetts car, motorcycle, and CDL licenses, plus FAQs about obtaining your Massachusetts driver's license.

The Boston Globe

Full-text coverage from 1980.

The New York Times Online

How it Works:

  • Unlimited access while using any device on the Thomas Crane Public Library network
  • Does NOT include access to the crossword, premium cooking section, and the archives between 1923-1980
  • Go to nytimes.com
  • Click Register Now and create a free personal nytimes.com account
  • Offsite? No problem, just get a token for 72 hours of offsite access